Who were the Nuns?

A Prosopographical study of the English Convents in exile 1600-1800

Jump to menu

The English Convents

New Hall, near Chelmsford

New Hall, near Chelmsford from The Romance of Lady Burton, vol. 1 (1897)

Seven convents have been selected for detailed analysis of the composition of the community and the life cycles of the nuns within them on the basis of the richness of the available data. They reflect a range of religious orders and community size.

Augustinians, ParisCompositionLife Cycles
Benedictines, CambraiCompositionLife Cycles
Benedictines, PontoiseCompositionLife Cycles
Carmelites, HoogstratenCompositionLife Cycles
Franciscans, BrusselsCompositionLife Cycles
Poor Clares, GravelinesCompositionLife Cycles
Sepulchrines, LiègeCompositionLife Cycles